The following provides a summary of our curriculum which is simple, focused and ensures all entitlements to learning are met.

Curriculum Map

The curriculum at Stoneywood is based on “A Curriculum for Excellence” guidance from Scottish Government.

The aim of Curriculum for Excellence is to enable all children to develop the necessary capabilities and attributes to be:

  • Successful Learners
  • Confident Individuals
  • Responsible Citizens
  • Effective Contributors

The curriculum is designed to enable all learners to understand the world they live in, reach the highest possible levels of achievement, develop skills for work in the 21st century and to foster lifelong learning.

The principles which underpin the curriculum are:

  • Challenge and Enjoyment
  • Breadth
  • Progression
  • Depth
  • Personalisation and Choice
  • Coherence
  • Relevance

The experiences and outcomes describe national expectations of learning and progression from the early to the fourth curriculum level. Progression is indicated through curriculum levels which are explained in the table below.


Level Stage
Early the pre-school years and P1 or later for some
First to the end of P4, but earlier or later for some
Second to the end of P7, but earlier or later for some
Third and Fourth S1 to S3, but earlier for some. The fourth level broadly equates to SCQF level 4
Senior phase S4-S6 and college or other means of study